Week 4 – 2016

Straight on to Week 4… This is sort of a long one. I must have had several books almost finished when the week began.

50856

Glory Road by Robert A. Heinlein – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the Boston Public Library. I read a lot of this author’s books when I was a teen, but I don’t remember this particular one. He did write a lot of books and it has been a really long time since I was a teen. Answering an ad for a hero, “Oscar” embarks on a journey to other worlds. It has all of the classic hero story elements with a fantasy twist (meaning they travel to other worlds and encounter made up creatures). I thoroughly enjoyed it and I’m giving it 3 stars.

6569924

Agnes and the Hitman by Jennifer Crusie + Bob Mayer – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. It was a book club pick for February. It’s part romance, part mystery novel, and part slap stick comedy. I know that this isn’t everyone’s cup of tea, but I found it thoroughly entertaining. If you’re still interested, you should go ahead and read the synopsis on Goodreads. I’m giving it 4 stars.

28230992

American Housewife by Helen Ellis – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. Actually, I suggested that they purchase it and it was automatically sent to me once it was available. I had read about it on a blog somewhere and it sounded hilarious. I was right. I was really impressed. This is a bunch of short stories with a general theme. The entire book was thoroughly enjoyable. Despite not being a housewife (or even a wife) myself, I found the stories entirely easy to relate to. Who hasn’t had a wacky neighbor or watched a crazy reality show? I’m giving it 4 stars.

9768940

The Postman Always Rings Twice by James M. Cain – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. I can see why this is a classic. It must have been quite cutting edge when it was first published. This is a crime thriller (you always know who the culprit is, so no mystery) from the noir genre that must have been fairly new in the 1930s. Right in the Goodreads synopsis it says that it was banned in Boston. They can be rather puritanical around here, even now. To sum up, it’s good and I glad that I read it and I’m giving it 3 stars.

25852870

Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. This is a retelling of Pride and Prejudice, so obviously we already know what will happen in the story. But the author has taken the bare bones of the story and made it more modern. Actually, she has made it extremely modern and uses current issues to make the story easier to relate to by modern readers. I found the Lydia “scandal” especially entertaining. I’m not giving that one away. I thoroughly enjoyed this. Pride and Prejudice is not my favorite story, though I do enjoy a good retelling of a classic. This one is especially good and I would be curious to see if the author will use the same format for future books. I really hope that she does. I’m giving it 4 stars.

12283261

Between the Lines by Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer  – I borrowed this as an actual book from the BPL. It is Between the Lines #1. Jodi Picoult wrote this with her teenage daughter and I was actually quite impressed with it. Apparently the daughter proposed the concept and they worked on it together. I liked this, but I am definitely not the target audience. I would recommend this for Jr. High or younger. Regardless, the concept is great and it’s sort of a modern fairy tale. I’m giving it 3 stars.

Sorry that this took so long. In my defense, I probably read about 6 books last week, which is also why this post is so long.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 4 – 2016

  1. Bob Mayer says:

    Appreciate the nice words about Agnes & The Hitman. One of my favorite books!

Leave a Reply

