Week 6 – 2016

There are only 3 for Week 6, so this should be fairly straightforward and quick. And if you believe that, let me tell you another….

6644117

The Iron King by Julie Kagawa – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. It is The Iron Fey #1. This is YA fantasy and it’s pretty cute. In a fairies stole my brother and I need to get him back sort of way. The author’s imagination is pretty impressive. The imagery is also quite great. I liked it. I may read the next one. I’m giving it 3 stars.

25278972

The Dressmaker’s War by Mary Chamberlain – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. This book sucks you right in. It is well written and engaging. At the beginning, Ada is about to be hanged and she hands her story to the wardress and tells her to read it. Immediately, I wanted to know what she could possibly be about to hang for. Of course, the possibilities were somewhat limitless but I didn’t guess it until the part of the story when the “crime” actually happens. I’m not giving the story away. You’ll just have to read it. I’m giving it 4 stars.

23317538

Rising Strong by Brené Brown – I received this as an actual book from a Random House Sweepstakes. Though, if you tried to tell me that I won it on Goodreads, I’d probably believe you. I think this author is really impressive and inspiring. I first heard of her because she wrote the intro to Amanda Palmer’s book The Art of Asking; or, How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Let People Help. Palmer also mentions another of her books, Daring Greatly: How the Courage to Be Vulnerable Transforms the Way We Live, Love, Parent, and Lead. Then I saw this was coming out and entered a giveaway for it and the rest is history. Now I see mention of her everywhere. She was even mentioned in an article in the October 2015 Toastmasters magazine. Back to the book…. this explores what happens after you have fallen and how to get back up. I suppose it’s the logical next step to the Daring Greatly process (though I have not read that yet). She talks about owning your failures and turning them around and bouncing back up (or, obviously, Rising Strong, like a phoenix from the ashes of your failure). It is inspiring (oops! already used that word) and I definitely recommend it, ESPECIALLY if you are going through something difficult at work or in your personal life. I’m giving this 4 stars.

And that’s all she wrote. Or I wrote. Or something.

 

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

