Week 7 – 2016

I keep getting new books, which is a constant reminder that I need to publish more posts and reviews. Week 7 spans Feb. 15 – 21, so clearly I am behind. As far as my Goodreads goal, I am actually on track, but I used to be ahead, so that’s probably going to be a challenge in the near future. So, without further ado, let’s get this started.

8587960

An Impartial Witness by Charles Todd – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Bostom Public Library. This is Bess Crawford #2. Charles Todd is actually a mother and son team, which sounds sort of weird, but it totally works. These are WWI era historical fiction / mystery novels. In this one, Bess recognizes a woman in a train station and when she later turns up dead under mysterious circumstances, she finds herself involved in trying to determine what has actually happened. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I’m giving it 4 stars. And in a moment of candid disclosure, I feel compelled to admit that because I read this over a month ago, I don’t really remember what happened, just that I enjoyed it enough to give it 4 stars on Goodreads, which I use to capture live / real time data. So there you have it.

8253866

Here Is Where by Andrew Carroll – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. It was okay. It’s not really my normal type of thing. I’m not sure where the recommendation came from either. This is a book of essays about things that happened in the US, significant things, that have not been marked or in any other way turned into monuments, whether they deserve them or not. Some of it is quite interesting. There is a bit of discussion about disputed resting places. Some of it probably should not be remembered. I’m giving it 2 stars.

26796656

Child Not Found by Ray Daniel – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. This book totally sucked me right in. I love books about Boston because I have been to all of the places. There is something magical about this. This author obviously lives here. It sucks when you can tell they are faking it or their descriptions are so vague that they could be about anything or anywhere. Of course, who would notice except a local? This book is full of all sorts of stuff. It has kidnapping, murder, gun fights, assault, near drowning, mobsters, hackers, crooks, crooked cops, and even a kitchen sink (more than one, actually). If you like a fast paced mystery, I definitely recommend it. If you live in Boston, even more so. I’m giving it 4 stars.

25210939

Girl Waits with Gun by Amy Stewart – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This is one of those books where an author takes a bunch of newspaper articles and turns it into a novel based loosely on real events. Another good example of this style if Frog Music which I wrote about here. I thoroughly enjoyed this and I really liked the characters. 3 girls are left living on a farm when their mother dies. When a gang runs into their cart with their car it is only the beginning. How will the girls prove that they can take care of themselves? It’s sort of a girls kick ass sort of story. I definitely recommend it. I’m giving it 4 stars.

13477676

Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the BPL. This author’s characters all seem to be dealing with emotional issues. In this one, it’s Leonard’s birthday and he plans to give the important people presents and then kill himself. I feel bad for Leonard. He’s largely unsupervised and it’s really no wonder that he’s depressed and wants to kill himself. It’s hard to be a teenager. It’s worse when you don’t feel like you can depend on your parents (either parent, not just one or the other). I’m giving it 4 stars.

And that’s it. Let me know if you agree or if you disagree. Let me know if you have any suggestions as to what I should read next. And remember… sleep is for the weak, so stay up late reading books!

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 7 – 2016

  1. Pingback: Week 8 – 2017 | Vanessa's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

