Week 8 – 2016

Week 8 covers February 22 – 28. It must have snowed that week because I finished a lot of books, so let’s just jump right in.

20418173

The Girl with a Clock for a Heart by Peter Swanson – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. This is the same author that wrote The Kind Worth Killing, which I reviewed here. This wasn’t quite as great, but it was still really good. This has a lot of twists and it’s hard to figure out what exactly is going on, which just adds to the suspense. I definitely recommend it. I’m giving it 4 stars.

7061

The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith – I borrowed this as an actual book from the BPL. These are loosely tied detective stories. Think Sherlock Holmes, but a fat woman in Botswana. It does give an interesting insight into the culture. I’m sure it’s exaggerated, but it is sort of enlightening regardless. I had a really hard time getting into this. I liked it, but it didn’t move quickly enough at the beginning. I’m giving it 3 stars.

23719147

Second Life by S.J. Watson – This, on the other hand, was quite good. I borrowed it as an e-book from the BPL. This may have been when I started getting bombarded with books I had put on hold at the library. This book is really impressive. You sort of hate some of the characters, but you’ll be intrigued by them at the same time. It’s nearly impossible to figure this one out before the ending. I love when that happens. I definitely recommend it. It’s getting 4 stars.

25937667

Mug Shot by Caroline Fardig – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. I also received it as part of the Chatterbox program a month later, which was sort of disappointing in a way because I was looking forward to reading something that I wouldn’t normally pick, but oh well, what can you do? Anyway… this is Java Jive #2. This was really very cute and I should have liked it better, but I just didn’t dig the outcome. That being said, I will definitely read the next one, and likely enjoy it a great deal. Juliet is back and there is another murder, her arch-nemesis is done in with a thermometer, which would all turn out fine except her bestie is accused of the murder based on circumstantial evidence. Well, they do always think it’s the boyfriend, right? I liked it. It’s cute. I hated the ending. That’s the long and the short of it. I’m giving it 3 stars.

17969687

The Black Country by Alex Grecian – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Norwood Public Library. This is Scotland Yard’s Murder Squad #2. This author puts everything except the kitchen sink into his books. It sort of muddles the story. I don’t know if they are intended as red herrings or the author is attempting to add more content in order to make the books more than just a thriller. He should stop trying so hard. The basic story is really good. He should concentrate on that. If you want to know what this is about, the link to Goodreads is here. I’m giving it 3 stars.

8191574

The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E. Pearson – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This is Jenna Fox Chronicles #1. A girl wakes up after having been in a coma for a year after an accident. Things are weird and she has no memories. Her grandmother barely speaks to her. It’s bizarre. Then she figures it out. It was good. I’m giving it 3 stars.

And that’s Week 8…. Let me know what you think.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

