Week 9 – 2016

So I normally start the new week when I finished the last one. Thank God for the Internet or I would have no clue where I left off. So Week 9 covers Feb. 29 – Mar. 6 and we’re off to the races….

19996277

The Reptile Room by Lemony Snicket – I borrowed this as sn e-book from the Boston Public Library. It is A Series of Unfortunate Events #2. These are definitely kids books, but I also quite enjoy them. They are cleverly written and I like that the vocab words are explained. Not that I need the vocab explained, but I bet kids find it helpful in some cases. I would recommend these for anyone. In this one, the orphans are sent to live with a relative that is a snake expert. Intrigue and chaos ensues. I’m giving it 3 stars.

19039732

Switch Bitch by Roald Dahl – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. I love Dahl’s adult short stories. These were written for Playboy in 1965. It is 4 stories only. You can guess at the adult nature of the stories based on the title and the fact that they were written for Playboy. The BFG this is not. I’m giving it 3 stars.

17406956

Beautiful Bastard by Christina Lauren – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. I don’t know what to do with this one. I sort of expect these types of books to be bad, so when one keeps me entertained for a few hours, I tend to be fairly forgiving with the review. I guess this is Twilight fan fiction, which explains why the basic story reminded me of 50 Shades of Grey. I didn’t read Twilight. I will never read Twilight. I also reserve the right to change my mind in the future if that suits me. This was mediocre, it entertained me, however, so I’m giving it 3 stars.

17449042

Wait for You by Jennifer L. Armentrout – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. I enjoyed this a lot more than the last. But, that being said, I’m still giving it the same score. This is college kids and they all have a lot to deal with and they have rocky relationships with each other. This was just a lot more plausible and I actually liked the characters. This is definitely Romance rather than Erotica (which is probably where that last one belongs). It’s a love story and it sucked me in. I’m giving it 3 stars.

22745853

The Boston Girl by Anita Diamant – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. That seems to be the theme of Week 9. I’m about to break the other theme. For starters, I love books about Boston. I am better able to visualize the scenes in my head. I have never read Anita Diamant before, but I heard that The Red Tent is fab. I think this book is pretty fab. It’s historical fiction, which is definitely my thing. This book just did it for me. I’m giving it 4 stars.

And there’s Week 9. I really thought they were all getting 3 stars. The Boston Girl wins.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

