Week 10 – 2016

And finally we have made it to Week 10 which covers March 7 – 13. The blog is behind. My Goodreads goal is on track. I just filed my taxes and not on the day that they are due. Everything else is kind of a mess as usual.

The first book was great, so we have that one going for us….

27821486

Don’t You Cry by Mary Kubica – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. This book was really impressive. I thought I knew what was going on and then BAM it turns out to be completely different. I love it when they surprise me. I also think that women are better at this genre, or at least they have been lately. I liked all of the characters, though I sort of felt sorry for every one of them also. Each of them is dealing with a pretty messed up situation, but they all seem to persevere rather than whining about it, which I also think is essential to a great story. It helps if there is something to admire about the characters. I definitely recommend this, especially to people who like suspenseful mysteries. I’m giving it 4 stars.

15836

Fugutive Pieces by Anne Michaels – I borrowed this as an actual book from the Boston Public Library. This one was very good. It’s about a Polish boy that is found hiding in the mud and rescued by a Greek archaeologist. His family has been killed by Nazis and the Greek smuggles him back into Greece and proceeds to hide him throughout the war. It’s a story of love and family and it is told in an interesting way. I definitely recommend it. I’m giving it 3 stars.

25738939

The Skeleton Garden by Marty Wingate – I received this as an e-book as part of the Chatterbox program via NetGalley. It is Potting Shed Mystery #4. This is a cute mystery novel. It is the fourth in a series. Gardeners Pru and her brother Simon dig up a WWII German plane in the garden along with a skeleton. Along with Pru’s husband, a detective in semi-retirement, they must find out who it is, but another body appears in the garden before that happens. Because of the way the story is told, it is fairly evident to the reader what the outcome will be. I found it very entertaining and the perfect vacation read. I definitely recommend it if you are looking for a light and entertaining mystery. I’m giving it 3 stars.

And that’s it for Week 10. Know of any books that you think I might like? I’d love to hear from you.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 10 – 2016

  1. Kiersten says:

    I couldn’t refrain from commenting. Perfectly
    written!

Leave a Reply

