Week 12 – 2016

Thankfully, there seems to be a bit more content for Week 12. This covers March 21 – 27. We may as well just jump right in, right?

13438524

Flight Behavior by Barbara Kingsolver – I borrowed this as an actual book from the Boston Public Library. It was a book club pick and I didn’t get an electronic copy in enough time to read it before book club. As it was, I didn’t finish before book club. March was a really busy time for me. My fellow book club members mocked me for not having finished the book for the first time ever. This book was really good. It’s the story of a woman that is unhappy with her life, but it is also about climate change and how small changes can have a large impact on the world. I really liked it. I’m giving it 3 stars.

17315727

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. It is 5th Wave #1. Aliens have taken over the planet in this YA dystopian novel. I put this on hold and then I saw the previews for the movie. Then I had second thoughts about reading it. It was surprisingly good. I think it was the whole alien thing that threw me off. The synopsis is here. You can make your own mind up about reading it. I’m giving it 4 stars and I may even read the next one.

18917353

Cop Town by Karin Slaughter – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This was also a book club pick. This one is about the boys’ club in the Atlanta Police Department in the 1970s. There is a killer loose that is targeting cops. The book centers around Maggie Lawson whose family is part of the boys’ club and Kate Murphy who is a rookie with a lot going on in her own family. I thoroughly enjoyed this and I’m giving it 4 stars.

8125853

Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This is Blade Runner #1. This is a classic sci-fi novel about artificial intelligence. How do you tell an android from a person? How do you tell if someone’s pet is real or a robot? I may need to see the movie. I’m giving it 4 stars.

What do you think of these books? I’d love to hear from you.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

