Week 14 – 2016

Work is busy. Life is busy. I’m way behind schedule with everything. This period covers April 4 – 10. Let’s see if I remember any of these books….

18891605

Deenie by Judy Blume – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. I distinctly remember not being terribly interested in whatever books I was already reading and downloaded this because it was showing available in my library wish list. This is classic Judy Blume. In this, Deenie finds out that she needs to wear a brace in order to straighten her spine. Judy Blume tends to address all sorts of issues that anyone would be afraid to ask their own mother about. She was definitely ahead of the curve on this trend. I’m giving this 4 stars.

20526702

The Secret Life of Violet Grant by Beatriz Williams – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. In this, Vivian receives a parcel that her mother wrongly assumes to belong to her, but actually intended for her long, lost great aunt Violet. The family had swept the memory of Violet under the rug. Vivian sets out to discover what happened to her and if the rumors about her life are true. I really liked the story. I’m giving this 4 stars.

19665685

The Sixth Extinction by Elizabeth Kolbert – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This was really very good. It studies previous extinctions and their causes. It also goes into the history of how the scientific field developed from a belief that there were no previous species to the current view that there were species on the Earth that are no longer present. It also looks into species that are facing extinction currently and things that are being done to study and preserve them. The book is very interesting. It was probably on a list of books recommended by TED speakers, if I had to guess. This topic comes up fairly frequently and I am grateful to know more about it. I’m giving this 4 stars.

11034060

Galore by Michael Crummey – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. I really liked this. It is about a fishing village in Newfoundland. Obviously this starts with a man being cut out of the belly of a whale. Because, why not? This follows 2 families stories, and how they intertwine, through 2 centuries. I was either in a bad mood when I finished or I liked this less than I remember. I gave it 3 stars at the time, and that is how it’s going to stand.

Week 14 sorted. That really wasn’t so bad. I should keep taking my sinus pills and keep my brain cells churning along. As always, let me know if you have any suggestions.

 

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

