Week 16 – 2016

I am never going to be caught up. There is always something else that is far more pressing. I’m also behind on actual reading. I am glad that I didn’t set my goal at 300 this year. I’d be really stressed out right about now. Week 16 covers April 18 – 24. It is now June. I should be flogged. With a wet noodle.

26698706

Our Own Country by Jodi Daynard – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. I really enjoyed this book. This actually has the same characters (for the most part) as The Midwife’s Revolt, which I reviewed here. This time the story is told from the perspective of Eliza (Jeb’s sister from the other book). I just thought that this was an interesting way to continue the story. It covers the same time period. Eliza falls in love with an inappropriate person (according to society at the time) and this is the story of how she deals with that. It’s a love story. I thought it was great. Again, I really liked this character. She goes from being sheltered and spoiled to open minded and quite a bit courageous. You’ll have to read it to see how the story turns out. I’m giving it 4 stars.

27845794

One With You by Sylvia Day – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. I actually recommended it to them so I was added to the hold list automatically when it was purchased. Apparently I was not the only one that requested that this be purchased. This is Crossfire #5. I liked it. It was good. I think this series may have been drawn out a bit too much. I recommend the entire series regardless. I’m giving this installment 3 stars.

11607071

Wilderness Tips by Margaret Atwood – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This is short stories. I don’t remember it a whole lot, but I gave it 4 stars, and I am sticking with that.

That’s it for Week 16, which is good in a way because I have other places that I need to be. As always, comments and suggestions are encouraged.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

