Week 17 – 2016

Let’s just keep plugging away, right? This week covers April 25 – May 1. I will finish this in one go and then I will go running outside.

6401660

Fingersmith by Sarah Waters – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. This story is exceptional. There are so many twists to this story that you’ll never figure it out before you’re meant to. Basically, everyone is out to double cross everyone else. I loved it. Oh, and there are LESBIANS, but it’s not overly explicit with the sex scenes. I’m giving it 4 stars.

4701

A Spot of Bother by Mark Haddon – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the Boston Public Library. This was really quite a good story. It’s not exactly on the same level as The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, but it is still quite good. The story is well written and it is easy to follow. There is a lot going on with this. It is the story of a family and the events leading up to the wedding of the daughter. I’m not giving anything away. Don’t even ask. I’m giving it 3 stars.

16055529

The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This was a book club pick. This actually was picked randomly by a member that never chooses the books. She mentioned it and I was like, “Yes. Let’s read that.” I didn’t even ask for anyone else’s input. This book was freaking awesome and I totally recommend it. The story is compelling and it lead to a great discussion. I highly recommend it. I’m giving it 4 stars.

25851270

The Thing About Jellyfish by Ali Benjamin – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This is young YA (in my opinion). A girl becomes obsessed with the idea that her friend was stung by a jellyfish, causing her to drown. This is one of those stories that sticks with you. It’s about a girl that is struggling and the people around her. It’s really good. I’m giving it 4 stars.

And that’s it. This took me all day to write.

 

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

