Week 18 – 2016

Hi Everyone! Thank you for reading! I love it every time I get a message about people that took the time to “like” my posts. Keep it coming! I also love to hear from people, so don’t be afraid to comment as well.

Having said all of that…. On to Week 18 which covers May 2 – 8.

19242145

Life Among the Savages by Shirley Jackson – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. This book was really surprising, and very funny. It wasn’t what I expected. This is autobiographical and it tells of a housewife and the interactions that she has with her husband and multiple children. Obviously she leaves out the mundane and just tells the funny stuff (or maybe rather takes the mundane and makes it funnier). The savages in the title are clearly the children and the husband and possibly the pets. You have to read this to understand. I’m giving it 3 stars.

26150583

Street of Eternal Happiness by Rob Schmitz – I received this as an e-book via the Penguin First to Read program. This is a really insightful look at the economy of China. It is told as stories about the people living in the neighborhood around the author. The author is an American journalist living in Shanghai. Instead of making this really boring, he teaches the fairly recent economic history of China (going back to the 1960s) by giving examples and relating it to real people. In some ways it reminded me of Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil: A Savannah Story but only in the sense that the author is telling the stories of real people living in the neighborhood. I would recommend this to anyone interested in other cultures or even just a good story. I’m giving it 4 stars.

20240

Search the Dark by Charles Todd – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. It is Inspector Ian Rutledge #3. I love this detective. He’s a little crazy (hears voices in his head), but it works for him. In this one, a woman is dead and her children are missing. A disturbed man that was passing through the area becomes the main target of police. This one had me stumped until nearly the end. I’m giving it 4 stars.

18304322

Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. In this, the main character has an identity crisis and in order to get herself out of it, naturally she signs up for a beauty contest. That is EXACTLY what I would have done in her shoes. This character has a lot of gumption. I suppose that the YA reader crowd might find this empowering. I’m giving it 3 stars.

That’s it for Week 18. Let me know what you think. Or suggest some books. I like that option too.

TTYL – VW

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

