Week 19 – 2016

Hello Everyone!

Thank you all for reading my blog. As always, I encourage you to comment or hit “like.” I love getting feedback, so don’t be shy.

Let’s get started. Week 19 covers May 9 – 15. If you think I’m behind, you’re absolutely correct. There are a lot of things happening right now. Plus it’s the summer, so who wants to be stuck in front of a hot computer when they can be doing just about anything else (except skiing, as you sort of need snow for that).

25177005

The Murder of Mary Russell by Laurie R. King – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. It is Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes #14. I found out that this was being published and used the recommend option with the library. Basically, you recommend a book that you want to read and the library decides whether to purchase and you are put on the hold list automatically. I love this and I have done it many times now. I love this series and I highly recommend it. In this installment, someone is determined to hurt Mrs. Hudson threatens Mary. When Mrs. Hudson happens upon the scene, she begins searching for clues while waiting for Holmes to return. I thoroughly enjoyed this installment and I am giving it 4 stars.

25982869

Scarlett Epstein Hates it Here by Anna Breslaw – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. This book has a great title. It had great potential. I think it fell a little short for me. In theory this sort of works, but it’s been over done. A geeky girl with few friends has a crush on someone that becomes popular. Her home life isn’t great. She writes fanfic (Is this something people do IRL?). The author just didn’t sell it IMHO. It probably still works as YA fiction, but perhaps not the stuff that crosses over to adults. I’m giving it 3 stars.

6394951

Becoming Jane Eyre by Sheila Kohler – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This is historical fiction and it tells the story of Charlotte Brontë and her sisters. There isn’t a whole lot to say about this. It is well written and I feel like I learned things about the sisters that I did not know previously. I liked it and I’m giving it 3 stars.

25937646

Death at a Fixer-Upper by Sarah T. Hobart – I received this as an e-book from the publisher as part of the Chatterbox program via NetGalley. This is a cute little mystery. A real estate agent suddenly has more clients than she knows what to do with and then they start dying under mysterious circumstances. Then her ex-husband reappears after having been missing for over a decade. There is a lot going on and there are a lot of players, but it doesn’t become confusing or hard to follow as is often the case when an author puts a lot of extraneous info into a book. It’s a quick read with a great pace and I definitely enjoyed it. I’m giving it 3 stars.

3302985

The Zookeeper’s Wife by Diane Ackerman – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This is a true story about a zoo in Poland during World War II. After the zoo was bombed and many of the animals were either killed or taken by the Germans, the zookeeper and his wife used the zoo to hide over 300 people from the Nazis. This was really well written and the story is told like a novel. It could have easily been a very dry account of this remarkable family. Instead, it is very entertaining. I’m giving it 4 stars.

There you have it! Week 19 in all of its spectacular glory. As always, let me know if you have any suggestions or if you have already found the next best thing and you would like my opinion. I look forward to hearing from you.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

