Week 20 – 2016

Hello Everyone!

Thank you for coming!

Today I will be discussing the books from Week 20. Week 20 covers May 16 – 22. I am so far behind. If you have any suggestions or if you have any words of encouragement, please feel free to leave comments. I LOVE hearing from people.

28524313

Curious Minds by Janet Evanovich and Phoef Sutton – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. This is Knight and Moon #1. I really like these authors, so I’m a little biased. I expect a goofy comedy with a side of some sort of mystery. That is exactly what this book provides. This is the first in a new series, Knight and Moon. Knight is eccentric and wealthy and he is entirely convinced that the world’s gold reserves are being stolen despite being locked in the most impenetrable vaults that the US has to offer. Moon is assigned by his investment firm as his amanuensis, but really to humor him and report back to them about his activities. It’s fun and funny and I definitely recommend it. I’m giving it 4 stars.

21847076

The Good Girl by Mary Kubica – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. I also received an actual book copy from the BPL. I panicked when I realized that it was a week before book club and hadn’t received a copy yet. I really liked this. Another book club member recommended this and we waited 2 months to read it because it’s popular. I REALLY liked this. It was similar to another book I read, Still Missing by Chevy Stevens, which I wrote about here. A girl is kidnapped, and the story is told both from the kidnapper’s perspective and from the perspective of the victim, but also from the point of view of the missing girl’s mother. Let me just start by saying that the girl’s father is awful. I ended up liking the kidnapper, who seemed like a person that just makes the wrong decision all of the time. The ending is something that you probably won’t expect. I’m giving this 4 stars.

That’s it. Apparently it was a slow week.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

