Week 21 – 2016

I can think of a lot of things that I should probably be doing with the next half hour of my life (laundry, dishes, cleaning, work, etc.), but instead I am posting a new post. I think everyone wins here. Week 21 covers May 23 – 29. Let me know if you have any suggestions or general comments. I look forward to hearing from you.

27246122

Red Queen by Christina Henry – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. It is The Chronicles of Alice #2. This isn’t nearly as dark or brutal as Alice, but I quite enjoyed it anyway. In this, the story of Alice and Hatcher continues. They must survive a barren wasteland in order to track down Hatcher’s daughter. Of course, they also encounter enchanted villages, human eating giants, and goblins along the way. Oh and Hatcher may or may not turn into a wolf and run off on his own, leaving Alice to fend for herself, which the poster child for girl power certainly manages to do. I loved it. It’s well written, compelling, and hard to put down. It’s getting 4 stars.

24974123

These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. This was a book that I recommended that they purchase and was immediately put on the wait list when they decided to get it. I have no idea who ultimately makes the decisions or what the criteria is, but I feel like someone out there is listening. I just want to say that I absolutely love this author. She does extensive research into her subjects and it shows. This is considered Young Adult because of the age of the main characters, but do not let that deter you from reading this. I thought it was great. A young woman is about to graduate from finishing school when her father dies in an accident. The more that Jo learns about the circumstances surrounding his death, the more she becomes convinced that her father was murdered. Jo teams up with a young reporter and they conduct their own investigation. I’m not giving away the rest. You’ll just have to read it. I’m giving it 4 stars.

28110094

Falling by Jane Green – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. This book really tugs at the reader’s feelings. This is what you expect from Jane Green. She has a basic formula and it works for her. A British ex-pat moves to Connecticut to start a new life. In this, Emma moves to the beach and starts “falling” for a local. Despite all of the tragedy, everything works out positively in the end, which is what you expect from this type of book. Not that the ending is predictable, but it does sort its way out in the end. I quite enjoyed it and I definitely recommend it. I’m also giving this 4 stars. I must have been in a good mood this week.

And that’s it for Week 21. I look forward to receiving your feedback. Even a little “like” will do.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

