Week 22 – 2016

This has been a busy week, so I’m probably even further behind than normal. I’m also behind on my Goodreads goal because I haven’t had much time to read even, let alone post to the blog. Week 22 covers May 30 – June 5. Let’s see if I remember any of these books! As always, I encourage you to comment or even just hit “like.” I love feedback, so don’t be shy. Also, please keep in mind that my rating system is based on the Goodreads rating system and that these ratings reflect only my opinion.

11250317

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller – I borrowed this as an actual book from the Boston Public Library. This took me forever to read, but do not take that as any indication that the book was lacking in any way. I loved it. It’s basically the story of Achilles told from the perspective of his best friend Patroclus. The author uses the Greek myths (and I’m assuming Homer’s Illiad) in order to create a novel about the life of Achilles and his best pal (and bed mate). It is highly entertaining. The fact that she gives them a sexual relationship (I do not know whether this is part of the original stories) makes this even better in my opinion. The male on male sex scenes are not overly explicit, so do not let that deter you from reading this. I’m giving it 3 stars.

11524208

My Life as a White Trash Zombie by Diana Rowland – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This is White Trash Zombie #1. I have no idea how this ended up on my radar, but I’m glad that it did. Angel wakes up in a hospital with no idea how she got there. A silent benefactor has set her up with a job as a body collector for the parish morgue. Then she realizes that she wants to eat brains and it sort of takes off from there. Honestly, this is my kind of book. It’s entertaining, it flows well, and it’s about zombies. I know that it isn’t everyone’s cup of tea, but I’m giving it 4 stars.

18669677

Even White Trash Zombies Get the Blues by Diana Rowland – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. It is White Trash Zombie #2. I do not normally read series back to back unless I am truly engaged, so there’s my endorsement. It also helps that the library had copies available. In this one, Angel meets the godfather of the zombie mafia. And yes, you read that correctly. Someone has been conducting super secret experiments on zombies (this sort of continues from the last book, so I won’t go into detail). Let’s just say that Angel is even more compelled to not just find out who has been hunting down zombies, but also why. This was thoroughly entertaining and I’m also giving it 4 stars.

And there you have it, Week 22. I must run now, as I have dinner plans with book club friends. I will leave you with a discussion question. Are books about zombies (or anything else you find entertaining) better than books that are more academically worthy? Let me know what you think.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

