Week 24 – 2016

I haven’t posted in a couple of weeks. I started a new job, it’s summer, I went camping, and I’ve just been really, incredibly busy. Week 24 covers June 13 – 19. As always, feedback is appreciated and avidly encouraged.

1798321

Goodbye, Ms. Chips by Dorothy Cannell – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. This is Ellie Haskell #12. I liked this. It’s a fun, simple mystery of a missing trophy at first and progresses into a legit mystery with all sorts of intrigue. The characters are fun. I like the fact that the boarding school mystery is poked fun at while actually being a boarding school mystery. There are a lot of characters, but it is not overly cumbersome. It is easy to follow. Also, some aspects of the mystery are fairly easy to figure out while others are not at all. I would recommend it to anyone that likes cute mystery novels. I have not read any of the others in the series. I’m giving it 3 stars.

27876306

Maggie Dove by Susan Breen – I received this from the publisher via NetGalley. I subsequently also received a copy via Chatterbox. This was really good. It gets an extra star for keeping me guessing right until the end. I love when I can’t figure out the killer until the reveal. I hope that this gets turned into a series. The characters are really great. I especially like Maggie Dove and Agnes. I’m giving it 4 stars.

27267112

Queen of Hearts by Colleen Oakes – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. This is Queen of Hearts Saga #1. I actually recommended this to the library because I wanted to read it and they automatically put me on the hold list when they decided to purchase it. I really like that they do that. I suppose it’s a lot easier than trying to guess what people want to read. I really liked this. It tells the story of Dinah who is destined to become the next Queen of Hearts. Of course, there are many obstacles in her way including a half sister that she never knew existed. I was impressed and I really liked it. I am looking forward to the next installment. I’m giving it 4 stars.

I nearly just kept going with the next one, but that’s really it for week 24. Let me know what you think!

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

