Week 25 – 2016

I meant to post this a lot sooner, so I apologize to all of you who regularly read my posts. My life is busy because I made it that way, but that doesn’t really excuse slacking off on my regular commitments. That being said,I should probably just get on with it, right? Week 25 covers June 20 – 26. As always, giving feedback is greatly encouraged and if you see something that especially resonates with you, comments are always welcome.

This shouldn’t be hard. Apparently, I only read 2 books that week.

25529961

Dark Tide by Jennifer Donnelly – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. This is another one that I suggested and then got added to the super secret hold list. This is Wildfire Saga #3. I love this author and I like this series (about mermaids) a great deal more than I thought I would. Seriously. It’s about mermaids. And it’s awesome. You need to start at the beginning with these and just keep going. I originally thought this would be a trilogy, but I’m glad that it isn’t. I’m almost reluctant for the mermaids to succeed in their quest to save the kingdom. I LOVE them and I don’t want their story to end. I can’t wait for the next one. I’m giving this 4 stars.

28502778

The Queen’s Accomplice by Susan Elia Macneal – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley.  This is Maggie Hope #6. I really love this series. I thought this one was especially good. Maggie has noticed that young women are disappearing and then their bodies start turning up in scenes that mimic Jack the Ripper. In order to catch this serial killer, Maggie joins up with MI-5 and Scotland Yard detectives. There are also ongoing story lines that travel throughout the series. For example, Maggie’s friend Sarah is being trained as a spy who will be joining the Resistance in France. Queen Elizabeth (the Queen Mum, not to be confused with Queen Elizabeth II) owes Maggie a favor and is not above using her power to pull some strings. I really liked this and I look forward to reading the next in the series. I really highly recommend the entire series. I’m giving this 5 stars.

And that is it for Week 25. Let me know what you think.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Week 25 – 2016

  1. Jim says:

    Does your website have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating it
    but, I’d like to send you an email. I’ve got some ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing.
    Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it develop
    over time.

    • vlwelser says:

      Hi Jim – I tend to force people to contact me in the comments or connect directly on Goodreads. That way I have more control over the flow and it gives me a buffer between me and the stalkers (IRL, not on the Internet). I wouldn’t want to end up the subject of a True Crime book, now would I? I do greatly appreciate the feedback.

  2. Kristen says:

    I truly love your site.. Very nice colors
    & theme. Did you develop this amazing site yourself?
    Please reply back as I’m planning to create my own blog
    and would like to learn where you got this from or what
    the theme is named. Thanks!

    • vlwelser says:

      Hi Kristen – I actually started with a word press template and occasionally I change the picture in the header depending on my mood. The pictures are normally just photos I take. That’s one of my other hobbies.

Leave a Reply

