Week 29 – 2016

What are the chances that I might post one of these every day this week? Unlikely? I think so too. As always, feedback is encouraged, even if you just hit like, at least I’ll know that I am reaching people out there in the ether.

26181697

F*ck Feelings by Michael I. Bennett, MD and Sarah Bennett – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. There was something about the title that caught my attention, plus that bright yellow cover. I was in a bad place when I read this and I think it may have actually helped me. The basic premise of the book is that you shouldn’t worry about stuff you have no control over. I’m going to share some of my favorite quotes in lieu of an actual review.

“If you want to have a child in order to have a beautiful, permanent experience, just get a tattoo of a dolphin riding a unicorn over a manatee, It will always be with you, stay exactly the way you made it, and bring you and the world joy without ever crashing your car or getting a stupid tattoo of its own.”
Sarah Bennett, F*ck Feelings: One Shrink’s Practical Advice for Managing All Life’s Impossible Problems

“Get a dog (cats are an acceptable substitute, but it’s not exactly confidence building to have a box of shit in your house).”
Michael I. Bennett

“If you desperately need to help something, get a rescued pet, preferably one missing an eye or leg.”
Michael I. Bennett, F*ck Feelings: One Shrink’s Practical Advice for Managing All Life’s Impossible Problems

“If you’re willing to accept what you can’t change, we have many positive suggestions for improving the way you manage the shit on your plate—beginning with not wasting time repeating what hasn’t been working.”
Michael Bennett, F*ck Feelings: One Shrink’s Practical Advice for Managing All Life’s Impossible Problems

“The only book that can actually teach you how to change how others think is a lobotomy manual.”
Michael Bennett, F*ck Feelings: One Shrink’s Practical Advice for Managing All Life’s Impossible Problems

And there you have it, some of the reasons I really liked that book. I’m giving it 4 stars.

16131484

The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This was quite good. It is The 5th Wave #2. It took me a while to get around to the second book, but I definitely liked it. These are fairly clever. The premise is that an alien people have decided to invade Earth and kill all of the humans in the process, presumably without destroying the actual Earth in the process. Sounds lame, right? I promise it’s good. Obviously start with the first one. I’m giving this 3 stars.

27209387

That’s Not How We Do It Here! by John Kotter and Holger Rathgeber – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. This is an unusual little book. It shows how leadership and management work (or don’t) in relation to group size using colonies of meerkats. That’s right. Meerkats. It is short, very well written, and it tells a good story. I’m a sucker for a good story. It’s entertaining. Boring management tome this is not. I highly recommend this. I’m giving it 4 stars.

And that’s all she wrote for Week 29. I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did. I am always looking for reading suggestions, so please feel free to leave a comment. My sister does this awful thing where she asks me to read a book so that we can talk about it, whereby I end up reading the worst book ever just so that I can explain to her that it is really just the worst book ever, so if you just want an opinion, let me be your guinea pig.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

