Week 34 – 2016

As I stated before, there is no Week 33. I can’t remember the last time I went an entire week without finishing a book. I told you I was a bit busy in August. Week 34 covers August 22 – 28. And I’m going to start with a random Instagram book selfie. Ironically, I was reading this first book while camping, in the woods. Thankfully this was not a creepy book. Actually, this took place during Week 33, so there you go.

Still trying to finish the book club pick. Only a week late…. #goals

A post shared by Vanessa Welser (@vlwelser) on

I have no idea how to make that smaller. Suggestions are welcome. Also, feel free to follow me. It’s mostly nature type stuff, but also art and occasionally a random book selfie.

And on to the books for Week 34….

237209

In the Woods by Tana French – I borrowed this as an actual book from the Boston Public Library. This is Dublin Murder Squad #1. This kept coming up as a book club selection and I had already read the 5th and liked it a great deal, so I championed this one. And then I didn’t get it from the library in time and only had a small portion of it read before the meeting. I hate scrambling to get a paper copy at the last minute, but I try not to actually purchase a lot of books because I’d be a very poor person. E-books are entirely too popular and people should return them when they’re finished rather than waiting until the 14 days are up (*vw slinks off to amazon to return a bunch of books that she’s finished). Anyway, I liked it. I sort of thought I knew who the mastermind was fairly early on, but that didn’t really detract from the book itself. There is a lot going on in this. I have the next one on hold currently. I’m giving this one 4 stars.

22875097

Born with Teeth by Kate Mulgrew – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the BPL. This was read by the author. I love those. Who better to read their own memoir than the actual author? I remember watching Mrs. Colombo as a kid. My mum loves detective shows and I remember watching this with her. This tells the story of Kate’s life growing up and some of the experiences she had as an actress through the era that she was on one of those Star Trek series. She talks about life and love and making difficult choices, including giving up a baby as a young woman. I thought it was interesting and I definitely enjoyed it. I really like her voice. I’m giving it 3 stars.

23480520

The Curious Case of the Copper Corpse by Alan Bradley – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. It is Flavia de Luce #6.5. I believe this is technically a short story. Flavia encounters a corpse in a bathtub and uses chemistry to solve the murder. It’s good. For fans of Flavia, this is definitely a little story to tide you over while you’re waiting for the next book. I’m giving it 3 stars.

28587613

A Whole Latte Murder by Carolie Fardig – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. This is Java Jive #3. I really like these. This is the third book in the series. They are written in a way that it is not really necessary to read them in order, but I would probably recommend doing so. I read the first mostly because I liked the cover and I keep reading them because I like the characters. Juliet runs a coffee shop called Java Jive and she keeps finding dead bodies. In this, there is already a missing girl when her neighbor turns up murdered. There are quite a few new characters in this one and, as usual, Juliet’s love life is in a bit of turmoil. This kept me guessing until the end and I do like when that happens. I definitely recommend it. I’m giving it 4 stars.

As always, feedback is encouraged.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

