Week 35 – 2016

Week 35 covers August 29 – September 4. I’m just going to blast through this, so bear with me. As always, comments are encouraged.

10096912

The Moon and Sixpence by W. Somerset Maugham – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. This is a fictionalized account of the life of Paul Gauguin. He was a successful grown ass adult with a family and children and a proper big boy job and one day decided to become a painter and moved to Tahiti. In real life. On one hand, what a dick. On the other, it’s hard to discredit the work he did as a painter. Read it. I keep going back to this author because his books are good. They read like current historical fiction, but they were written quite some time ago. This was originally published in 1919. I’m giving it 3 stars.

18905676

Men We Reaped by Jesmyn Ward – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This is a memoir. This author really impressed me with Salvage the Bones. This is also really well written. It reads like a novel, actually, but it tells the story of actual boys that the author grew up with. It also gave an insight into growing up in the South. I thought it was really good and I enjoyed it thoroughly. I’m giving it 4 stars.

28186322

A Curious Beginning by Deanna Raybourn – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley an absurdly long time ago. This is Veronica Speedwell #1. I thoroughly enjoyed this. It is the first in the series. Veronica has little knowledge of her origins. When her caretakers die, a man appears and proposes to take her away to London in order to protect her from people who are trying to keep her past a secret or use her for their own purposes. The baron soon leaves her in the care of a questionable character called Stoker. In order to keep her safe, the pair must flee and go into hiding. The quest to find out who Veronica really is leads them on a dangerous journey. It is a good story and I really liked the characters. I definitely recommend it. This is getting 4 stars.

And this is where I leave you. Let me know what you think.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

