Week 36 – 2016

I’ll try to do this one quickly. As usual, I am shortly off to do something else. Let me know what you think. Comments and suggestions are more than welcome. Week 36 covers September 5 – 11. How behind am I?

28186337

Wirewalker by Mary Lou Hall – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via the Penguin First to Read program. This was quite good. Clarence is a teen living in poverty with a father that doesn’t seem to be able to take care of himself, let alone a child. Clarence meets many people in this coming of age story. He meets people that inspire him to be better with their support and others who inspire him to try to be better through their bad examples. It is a great, inspiring story and I definitely recommend it. I’m giving it 3 stars.

20249296

The Wide Window by Lemony Snicket – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. This is A Series of Unfortunate Events #3. In this one, the Baudelaire children are sent to live with an eccentric woman who lives in a house set precariously on the edge of a cliff. I can’t imagine how that might go wrong. Plus Count Olaf escaped at the end of the last book, so obviously that isn’t ideal. This new relative is afraid of EVERYTHING. She won’t use the stove or turn on the radiators. Obviously this doesn’t end well. I really like this series and I think children everywhere should read it, and probably adults as well. I’m giving this one 3 stars.

30008834

A Perilous Undertaking by Deanna Raybourn – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. It is Veronica Speedwell #2. I definitely liked this. The characters are quite enjoyable. Even the tortoise (Patricia) is amusing. The story was good and the mystery was engaging. I will definitely read the next book in the series when it comes out. I’m giving it 3 stars.

And that is it for Week 36. I look forward to your feedback.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

