Week 39 – 2016

It’s already December! How did that happen? I’m so far behind. Oops. So Week 39 covers September 26 – October 2. Let me know if you have any remarks. Feedback is welcome and actively encouraged.

143819

They Poured Fire on Us from the Sky by Benson Deng, Alphonsion Deng, and Benjanin Ajak – I received this as an actual book via a Reading Group Choices drawing. This book was really good. It is a collection of non-fiction stories written by a pair of brothers and their cousin. It tells of their experiences as lost boys fleeing the Sudan during the 80s and 90s. It is really well written and very informative. Obviously these boys were quite motivated to survive and not only that, but to succeed in life. The stories they tell about their own experiences near death as well as the things that they witnessed along the way, really tell the history of a generation from an area of the world that perhaps gets overlooked as we focus our attention elsewhere. I’m giving it 4 stars.

27838280

All These Perfect Strangers by Aoife Clifford – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. I don’t really know what to do with this one. It was interesting and entertaining, but ultimately sort of unsatisfying. If you read it, you’ll probably see what I mean. This is a mystery and maybe I just didn’t bond with the characters, but I just didn’t really care what happened to any of them. Either they’re guilty or they aren’t and all of them seem to be guilty of something in the end. It was good, but it just wasn’t enough. Does that make any sense? I’m giving it 3 stars.

16143347-1

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. This was a book club pick. And I admit that because I gave it such a poor rating, some of my friends refused to read it or attend book club. I was about 20% in and a light bulb went off in my head. The cousins were all standing on the bank and suddenly I knew what had happened to all of them. This has lead to a lot of discussion among my friends. One actually read the book a second time to search for clues. I gave it a bad rating because I figured it out too early and not for any other reason. I’m giving it 2 stars, and I am standing by my opinion.

That’s all I have for Week 39. Let me know what you think, even if it’s just to argue over the rating I gave that last one.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

