Week 41 -2016

Week 41 covers October 10 – 16. Let me know what you think or if you have read any of these. Feedback is greatly encouraged.

6032267.jpg

Everything I Know About Lean I Learned in First Grade by Robert O. Martichenko – I was given this book as part of my new employee on boarding process. They gave me a book to read! I think I found the right company! And then I read this book. For a required class. I have an MBA and I took classes in operations management. This book is not for someone like me. It is so basic. It was okay and I get what the author was trying to do here, but OMFG this was bad. I may go borrow a book from the company library right now just to redeem the awfulness of this one. I’m giving it 2 stars.

26185453.jpg

Dead as a Doornail by Linda P. Kozar – I received this as an audiobook from the reader. This is When the Fat Ladies Sing #3. This was just really cute. You know, for a murder mystery. I think it had something to do with the narrator. It was definitely the narrator. But it was also really funny, which is definitely the author. I have a long commute and this actually kept me engaged. I liked it a lot and I’m looking forward to the next one. I’m giving this 4 stars.

30290550.jpg

Mischling by Affinity Konar – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. This book is really really really very good. I have a thing for Holocaust novels (and basically anything WWII), and this is one of the best I’ve ever read. This is about twin girls that end up in Auschwitz as guinea pigs of Mengele. If you’re not familiar with Mengele’s experiments, you need to go do some research. I’ll wait…. Horrific, right? But this novel. This has all of the feels. You root for the girls. You root for their friends. You even root for the people who become their adopted caretakers (this only makes sense if you read it). I would recommend this to anyone. It’s educational. It’s entertaining. You experience real feelings. What more could you need? I’m giving it 5 stars.

29249050.jpg

The 37th Parallel by Ben Mezrich – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. As with the last book, this was something I recommended to the library. This guy was a guest on the radio program I listen to in the morning on the way to work. I would never have decided to read a non-fiction book on UFOs otherwise. Basically, this author picks an interesting topic, does a shit-ton of research and then puts it all together while at the same time acting as an impartial witness. This was really freaking interesting. Whether you believe in UFOs and aliens and whatnot, this is a really informative book. Besides, you don’t have to believe. You just have to understand that the subjects of the narrative believe. I’m giving it 3 stars.

20568313.jpg

Calling Me Home by Julie Kibler – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This was a book club pick. One of my friends who never likes anything unless it’s really good actually gave this 5 stars. Can you believe it? Obviously I had to read it. And she was right. This is a love story, but it’s also about race and inequality. Isabelle and Dorrie are going to a funeral and Isabelle tells her story along the way. Dorrie isn’t sure whose funeral this is by the way, and neither will you, until she gets there. I’m giving this 4 stars.

24609851.jpg

The Last Star by Rick Yancey – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Norwood Public Library. I think. It could have possibly been the BPL. Anyway, this is The Fifth Wave #3. I’m just not totally sold on how this ended. The first book was really good. I sort of feel the same way about Divergent. The first book was above and beyond the awesomest thing ever but then the second was good, but not nearly on the same level, and then the third was just less and add in an ending that didn’t do it for me, and I’m left just feeling mediocre about this. It’s good. Read the first and go from there if you choose. I’m giving this installment 2 stars.

And I guess that’s it. 6 books in a week isn’t bad. It used to be my average. Let me know what you think. Even if you totally disagree. I love hearing from people.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

