Week 42 – 2016

I want to wish all of you a Happy Holiday! There’s my cheerful message of the day. That being said, I will point out that this post covers Week 42, or October 17 – 23 for those of you that do not have a calendar with the weeks numbered. Feedback is encouraged, even if you just hit like or want to say, “Hi!” (There is a special place for people that do that. And I think it’s awesome.)

28428662.jpg

Nine Women, One Dress by Jane L. Rosen – I borrowed this from the Boston Public Library as an e-book. It is actually something I recommended because for some reason I wanted to read it. This book is sort of awesome. If you’re thinking ew, gross, it’s definitely not what you think. The one dress referred to in the title is the perfect LBD, but the characters do NOT all wear the same exact dress. They come in different sizes. The premise is that THE perfect LBD can change your life. Even if it’s not in the way you expect life to change. I was impressed with this. I definitely recommend it. I’m giving it 4 stars.

26855961.jpg

The Nest by Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. I’m not totally sure what to do with this one. This is sort of like a car wreck. You can’t look away. So a bunch of spoiled adults are counting on money from a trust that was set up by their father (maybe? or grandfather?) and then invested really well. So the trust basically goes away because the most spoiled of them all needs to be bailed out of something that he probably should have taken responsibility for in the first place. And, even though he actually has the money to do it (no one knows this, so shhhh), decides to run off to the Caribbean rather than pay the money back. The rest of the siblings are also up to their necks because they have all counted on this windfall, so they all have to sort of figure out how to cope without it. The poor things. My sympathy doth overflow. Anyway. It is well written. The story flows. The characters are interesting even if not overly empathetic (probably not the right word. I don’t feel sorry for any of them. That’s what I’m trying to convey.). I’m giving it 4 stars.

30850994.jpg

Still Beauty by Cyrano Cayla – I received this as an actual book from the author. (And if anyone is interested in doing this, sending me books, please let me know and I will make sure that it happens right away.) I really liked this. It really sucked me right in once I started reading it. Connie and Liddell are asked to step in and write an article about 4 different artworks located in 3 different European capitals. Through the art, they are forced to reexamine their own lives and those of their parents while also making adjustments to their hopes and aspirations for the future. I thought it was well written, and aside from a few phrases that Americans wouldn’t use, and overall a great effort by a new author. I definitely recommend it. This is also getting 4 stars. I must have been in a good mood this week. Not that these books aren’t all totally lovely.

29618100.jpg

All the Little Liars by Charlaine Harris – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This is Aurora Teagarden #9. This was good. Maybe all authors should take a 10 year hiatus from their best characters. Kidding. It’s actually been 13 years since she wrote one of these. It’s really quite good. It probably helps that I read this series fairly recently. Harris doesn’t miss a beat with this one. I’m giving it 4 stars.

26493842.jpg

The Vegetarian by Han Kang – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. Shocking. This book is getting a lot of hype this year. I get it. This is good. Like in an intellectual sort of way. It’s also sort of creepy in a way that only stories from Asia seem capable of. The main character stops eating meet and basically ends up consuming herself. If it looks like a dung beetle, it may just be a dung beetle, but this felt to me to be a lot more profound than that. I’m not giving everything away. Read it. 3 stars.

13510287.jpg

Wonder by R.J. Palacio – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. I read it in a day. Have you ever had a friend that always recommended the BEST books? ALWAYS? This had been on my list for a while and then THAT friend recommended this to me. We were at dinner. I whipped out my phone and joined the library wait list immediately. People that know me realize how weird this is for me to do. I NEVER whip out my phone at dinner. Love the one you’re with, right? And that’s how this happened. This may be one of the best books EVER. Just do it. Don’t you trust me? 5 stars. Easily.

And that’s it. I’m off to go read more. I am so not making the yearly Goodreads goal.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

