Week 44 – 2016

I’m almost getting there. I have a feeling there is absolutely no hope for my Goodreads goal for the year. Feedback, encouragement, and other assorted nonsense is welcome as always. I look forward to hearing from you.

6522048.jpg

Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. This is a classic. I don’t read classics very often, but once in a while I put some on my library wish list and occasionally I actually read one. This was really very good. I understand why it’s a classic. It’s one of those books that gives you a view of life from someone else’s perspective. They should teach this in schools. Errr, wait. I wish this had been taught in my school. I’m giving it 4 stars.

23564115

That Wasn’t Chicken by Linda P. Kozar – I received this as an audiobook from the reader. This is Until the Fat Ladies Sing #4. These are cute. I really like the narrator. In this one, an associate of Hudson’s goes missing and Jolene’s son Zane is believed to be a suspect. There’s a head in a freezer, a guinea pig farm, and a bunch of important people in a club specializing in exotic food. It’s wacky and fun and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I’m giving it 3 stars.

29776867

Maggie Dove’s Detective Agency by Susan Breen – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. This is Maggie Dove #2. I definitely liked this, but not nearly as much as the first. Maggie Dove is a Sunday school teacher that has just started a detective agency with 2 of her friends. Their first client is willing to pay them to convince her sister not to return to town. When the sister appears with and odd entourage, all sorts of strange things start to happen, including the apparent suicide of said sister. They encounter real life witches, psychotropic drugs, polyamory, a missing tarantula, and many other things on the way to finding out what really happened. My only issue with this was that there was a bit too much talk of religion and faith for my taste. I still recommend it, but definitely read the other book in the series. I’m giving it 3 stars.

6573912.jpg

Prep by Curtis Sittenfeld – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. I liked this. It’s a coming of age story about aiming high, achieving your goals, getting what you think you want, and then realizing that it isn’t what you thought it was. And then dealing with it as it is. I wanted to go to boarding school when I was a kid. I would have probably been a charity case, provided my mother would even let me go (who wants their baby to go away to school before they absolutely have to?). So I get it. I liked it. I’m giving it 3 stars.

And that’s all you’re getting for the moment. Kidding. That’s just all I read during Week 44. As always, please let me know if you agree, disagree or if you have any suggestions about what I should read next….

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

