Week 45 – 2016

I am desperately trying to wrap up 2016. Let me know if you have any ideas on how to stay on top of projects and achieve goals. Or tell me what books to read. I may have to accept the fact that I’m going to be about 10 books shy of my Goodreads goal. I could just read nonstop for the next 3 days or I could accept defeat and try harder next year. Did you all meet this year’s goals?

8179222

Second Honeymoon by Joanna Trollope – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. I thought it was cute. The last child is moving out of the family home. The mother is a bit frantic and depressed. The father is delighted and wants to enjoy the time with his wife. Then the middle child runs into money trouble. Dad won’t let her move home. It sort of snowballs from there. It’s cute. I liked it. I’m giving it 3 stars.

14935912

Speaking Truth to Power by Anita Hill – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. I saw her speak at the MA Conference for Women and being the geek that I am, I read this to prep for it. And then I recommended it to my book club. And wrote a book summary about it for work (because they sent me to the conference). I love this book. I think everyone should read it. She talks specifically about the harassment she endured, not just from Clarence Thomas, but also from the Senators and the American public as a result of her speaking up for herself and telling the truth. My mother still gets spitting mad when this topic is discussed, so clearly it is still an active and valid issue. Obviously, if my mom’s still peeved, it’s still relevant, right? I’m making light of a very serious topic and that really isn’t my intention. Anita Hill is definitely one of my heroes. Imagine being that brave? I like her even more now. Read it. I’m giving it 5 stars.

8125501

The Likeness by Tana French – I borrowed this from the BPL as an e-book. This is Dublin Murder Squad #2. This was really very good. Cassie Maddox is back. And so is one of her undercover aliases. Seriously, someone is using an old ID of Cassie’s and turns up dead. So obviously Cassie goes under cover as herself and tries to find out who killed her. This is an interesting, if improbable, concept. But highly entertaining. I’m giving it 4 stars.

652083

The War of the Worlds by H.G. Wells – I “bought” this from Amazon. Not this version. The free to download because it’s out of copyright version. I stole this obviously much cooler image from Goodreads. I was obviously trying to boost my numbers with this one. Though I’m glad I read it. Aliens invade England, people die, there’s some panic involved. You probably know the basics. I’m giving it 3 stars.

Bam. Done. Let me know what you think. Feedback is readily encouraged.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

