Week 47 – 2016

So I’m still trying to finish out 2016. This will be quick. Week 47 covers November 21 – 27. As always, feedback is encouraged.

20603758

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. This was recommended by that friend that’s very picky about books and actually liked this one. I always read the ones she recommends. This is post-apocalyptic. Basically, life sucks, so most people live virtual lives. And there’s a contest that no one can figure out the clues to find the Easter eggs. Honestly, if you weren’t alive in the 1980s and/or don’t play video games, this may not be your thing, but if you were and/or do, you’ll probably enjoy this a great deal. I’m giving it 4 stars.

20079860

The Miserable Mill by Lemony Snicket – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. I think this may have been about when I realized that meeting my Goodreads challenge was going to be next to impossible. This is A Series of Unfortunate Events #4. Honestly, these are getting a bit dull. The plots are basically the same. Go live with some strange distant relative, Count Olaf appears in disguise, the children have trouble convincing the adults that this is so, and then Count Olaf is revealed. Shock and surprise ensue. I’m not the intended audience for these. And please do not let my impression dissuade you from reading them. They are very well written children’s books. I’m giving it 3 stars.

That’s it. There was Thanksgiving and my mum was visiting. That first one was pretty long. The next may be even longer.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

