Week 49 – 2016

Who’s surprised that I’m still lagging behind? Show of hands? As always, feedback is encouraged. I’m just going to jump in. This is going to be a long one.

22914802

The Wicked Will Rise by Danielle Paige – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. This is Dorothy Must Die #2. These are fun. I like fairy tale re-tellings. This is sort of a post Frank L. Baum series. Dorothy is back and she’s totally evil. So Amy needs to stop her and all of her evil friends. The thing I like about this is that it makes use of the vast amount of Oz material, and not just the first book. So, if you like Oz, go for it. Obviously start with the first one. I’m giving this 3 stars.

12257606

Chomp by Carl Hiaasen – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. I love this author. This is YA, but totally appropriate for adults. It was funny. There’s a story. The characters are well written. If you need a summary, go here. I actually was inspired to read this because I thought it would be relatively short and an easy read back when I was still vaguely hopeful that I could meet my Goodreads goal. That was a huge fail, but I got to read some stuff that I’ve been passing over in favor of heavier reading. I’m giving this 4 stars.

11996467

How to Survive a Horror Movie by Seth-Grahame Smith – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This is like a novelty book. It’s sort of amusing. It reads like a self-help book, but obviously it’s comedy. Of course, at the same time, it sort of analyzes the horror movie genre. I really don’t know what to do with this one. For the record, I loved Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. I’m giving this 3 stars.

25566212

Heartless by Marissa Meyer – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. I really like the Lunar Chronicles. This is a prequel to the Alice in Wonderland story. Basically, how the Queen of Hearts became a monster. This book isn’t awful. I really liked the main character and I wanted for things to turn out better for her. But obviously it doesn’t. I only gave it 3 stars. That was probably unfair.

16160706

Steal Like an Artist by Austin Kleon – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. I found this book really inspiring. I started keeping an idea notebook. I basically write down quotes that I like and words that I looked up that I think might actually add to my vocabulary. In case you’re wondering about where my extensive vocabulary came from, it’s because I look shit up. Before the internet, I used a paper dictionary. Or an encyclopedia. Maybe a thesaurus. Now, I can not just look up words, but pictures. I need to figure out a way to save all of the things somewhere (not Pinterest. Hate that shit.). Anyway, I liked it. It’s getting 3 stars.

And that’s it. As always, feedback is encouraged. Let me know if you have any suggestions.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

