Week 2 – 2017

Here we go again! Week 2 covers January 9-15. As always, feedback is encouraged. Let me know if you have any book suggestions for me.

32057664

Do Not Say We Have Nothing by Madeleine Thien – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. I like books like this that tell me a story about what it is like to live in a different time or a different culture. China, with all of its turbulent changes over the last century or so, is a fascinating topic to me. A great summary is here. I read this concurrently with Interesting Times, which is a satire of ancient China (well, maybe not ancient, but certainly occurring before the setting of this novel). I believe it sort of added to my overall enjoyment of both books. I’m giving this 4 stars.

24516316

The Book of Speculation by Erika Swyler – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This is a book within a book scenario. Even the main character is a librarian. I normally like these, but this one is a bit different. This actually is the story of a circus family, a wild boy, a mermaid, and assorted other characters. Even the house could be said to be one of the characters. I liked it. Here is a better synopsis. If you like this sort of thing (it’s fantasy fiction really), then definitely go for it. I’m giving it 4 stars.

That’s all I have for Week 2. If you have any lit mashups that you would like to share, let me know. Even just a like or a hi will get you brownie points. Until next time…

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

