Week 3 – 2017

Are you ready for Week 3? This covers January 16 – 22. Let me know if you have any comments or suggestions. Feedback is definitely encouraged.

30971999

For Whom the Bread Rolls by Sarah Fox – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. This is Pancake House Mystery #2. I really like this series. The characters are fun. The stories and plots are good. There are a lot of characters and there’s a lot going on, but it isn’t overwhelming. In this one, Marley’s nemesis is found murdered and she must figure out who it is before rumor puts her out of business. And here’s the secret about this one…. I started reading it because the book I had on text to speech was making me cry. In my car. On the way to work. And I knew this would be a fun read that wouldn’t make me cry. So there you have it. I ended up reading this so I wouldn’t walk into work with mascara running down my face (kidding. waterproof. duh.). And I thoroughly enjoyed it. I’m giving it 4 stars.

25633345

Barbara the Slut and Other People by Lauren Holmes – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. This caught my attention because of the title. It is an incredibly enjoyable group of stories. There isn’t really a theme other than being incredibly well written and thoroughly entertaining. If you like your stories in single serve packets, I definitely recommend this to you. I’m giving it 4 stars.

28428486

Murder in Time by Julie McElwain – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This is Kendra Donovan #1. This one is a little weird. Kendra intends to kill a really bad dude, so she goes to England and poses as a performer of sorts at a castle, but then everything goes awry and she gets sucked through a vortex in a secret passage in the castle and ends up trying to hunt down a serial killer. It’s an interesting concept, even if you don’t believe in time travel. I’m giving it 4 stars because it is definitely engaging.

16810

The Berlin Stories by Christopher Isherwood – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the BPL. When I realized this was the basis for the musical Cabaret, I needed to read this. The fact that it has been sitting on my library wish list for an eon was just the cherry on top. This is highly entertaining. It shows an English perspective of Berlin once the Nazis took power but before they really got going in their reign of terror. I’m giving it 3 stars.

And that’s it. Normal people finish 4 books in a week, don’t they? For once, I am way ahead of my Goodreads goal, but I only set it at 100. It took the pressure off and I can go ahead and read all of the giant tomes that I like without stressing about the numbers. They should have a page count goal instead for people who like to read the really long ones, as opposed to people who end up counting picture books. As always, let me know if you have any suggestions. I love hearing from all of you!

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

