Week 6 – 2017

I’m back already. I have a little down time, so I thought I’d take a crack at getting another one of these out. Week 6 covers February 6 – 12. The funny thing about this time of the day is that I type 3 sentences and then I get interrupted.

Bad Monkeys by Matt Ruff – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. Frankly, this one was a bit weird. And I like weird, so I was entertained, and you may be too. But I’ll have a hard time explaining this book. So the Goodreads summary is here. I’m giving it 3 stars.

The Doors of Perception by Aldous Huxley – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the BPL. I know that I said the last one was weird, but this one is beyond fucking weird. So our pal Aldous goes on a mescaline trip and writes a journal about what happened. And calls it “fiction.” Right, Aldous. We believe you. It was ok. It was pretty short. I’m giving it 2 stars.

The Best of Adam Sharp by Graeme Simsion – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. I really like this author. Or I really liked The Rosie Project. This was good. A man approaching 50 reexamines a lost love from over 20 years previous. Adam took a job in Australia in his 20s and met and fell in love with a local actress. But probably only because he can play the piano. This is a love story and it questions everyone’s morals. It examines the question of how far you would let your spouse push you before you decided it was enough and you needed to leave. So this one is sort of about ending relationships. Rather than starting them. It’s well written and while the characters may not all be likable, they are realistic. I’m giving it 3 stars.

Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. This one took me a long time to read and I have no idea why, because it’s really quite good. I would read part and then set it aside and read other books, many of which weren’t nearly as good. One reason is that I felt this deserved my undivided attention. It just wasn’t that easy to follow if I put it on text to speech and let the Kindle read it to me. One of the more astonishing things about this book is that the events and some of the characters are real. Caroline is a New York socialite (real person) who is dedicated to charity causes, like French orphans. Kasia is a Polish teen (fictional but based on an amalgamation of real people) who gets caught up in the Polish Resistance. Herta is a German doctor (real person) who is pushed into dermatology because she is female. The story is set up as a narrative from each woman’s perspective and how their lives all ultimately intersect. Oh and there’s a fake made up love story for Caroline that sort of detracts from the main story. I think this could have been better if the Caroline story had focused more on her girl power. I think women need more examples of women who succeeded in their goals without their lives having to revolve around love and men. I do definitely recommend this because it’s really very good. I’m giving it 4 stars.

The Three-Body Problem by Liu Cixin – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. It is Remembrance of Earth’s Past #1. This is one of those books that everyone else thinks is great. Everyone else. I like fantasy and sci-fi and I can definitely be up for some really weird shit sometimes. But this. This was not for me. I’m giving it 2 stars.

I don’t know if I was cranky during Week 6 or if I was just making some really poor decisions, but this is how it all went down. Let me know what you think. Feedback is definitely encouraged.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

