Week 7- 2017

I’m just going to speed through this one. If I’m going too fast, tell me to slow down. Just kidding, but feedback is encouraged. Week 7 covers February 13 – 19. And I probably read a lot, because I live in Boston and there is no sense in leaving the house in February.

The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. This is Queen of the Tearling #1 (shocking). All jokes aside. I really enjoyed this book. It’s fantasy (obvs. the girl has super powers). There is a summary here. I just put a hold on the second in the series. I’m hopeful that this is the new thing. Like when I was pumped about Graceling. Apparently I like fantasy book series. Who knew? I’m giving this 4 stars.

The Adventures of John Carson in Several Quarters of the World by Brian Doyle – I received this as an actual book from the BPL. This was definitely entertaining. This is a story within a story. The narrator is Robert Louis Stevenson and he recounts the stories as told to him by the people he meets in San Francisco where he was living briefly, waiting for Fanny’s divorce to be finalized. The author takes real people and uses source material to create the story. It’s an interesting concept and the author’s ability to channel RLS, even down to his narrative style is pretty impressive.I’m giving it 3 stars.

Behind Closed Doors by BA Paris – I borrowed this as an actual book from my friend Carol. She brought it to book club and I grabbed it, knowing that she really enjoyed it. Enjoyed is a weird concept in relation to this one. This is a psychological thriller. I read it within a day. It sucks you right in and spits you out the other end. I liked this book immensely. I could NOT put it down. I struggled to rate this. I’m giving it 4.5 stars. I never give anything half a star. I was really torn on this one.

The Girl Before by JP Delaney – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. I also found this one really hard to put down. I had to go to book club with a brain full of mush after reading the 2 of these in a row. Here’s my original review. This is a really good psychological thriller. It tells the story of 2 women, Emma is telling her story from the past (mostly because she is dead) and Jane who has her own set of issues and becomes obsessed with finding out what exactly happened to Emma. Both of these women are at a point in their lives where living in an austere house with a million rules to follow has an appeal. Emma because she has experienced a robbery and the security of the house appeals to her, and Jane because her daughter was stillborn and needs to begin her life again. Finding out what actually happened to Emma is central to the story and it becomes a sort of cautionary tale for Jane who intends to avoid the mistakes that led to Emma’s death. The story really draws the reader in and all of the twists and turns lead to a great story. I definitely recommend it. This one’s getting 4 stars. Oh and if you told me this was JK Rowling, I would not even pretend to be surprised. That’s the level we’re on with this one.

Only 4 books this week. Such a slacker…. If you have any comments or suggestions, please do not hesitate to let me know.

 

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

