Week 8 – 2017

I have a serious reading hangover. I finished 4 books this weekend. I’m taking a break to watch Batteries Not Included. I love this movie. I haven’t seen it in years. Week 8 covers February 20 – 26. As always, feedback is encouraged.

Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the Boston Public Library. This author’s books all seem to deal with mental illness. Apparently I read another of his books almost exactly a year previously, Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock. This is quite good, however, it took me a while not to feel like the narrator was pretty annoying. I did enjoy it overall. I’m giving it 3 stars.

Swamplandia! by Karen Russell – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This one deals with some tough subjects and is not for the feint of heart. In a way, it reminds me of Salvage the Bones. In this one, a gator wrestling theme park is struggling to survive after its lead performer has died. The family is quickly spiraling out of control when a new park opens nearby. The brother leaves, the father heads to the mainland, the sister has an affair with a ghost and runs off with him to commit suicide, and the narrator goes off in the swamp with a seriously shady dude. To see how it all turns out, you will have to read it. I’m giving it 4 stars.

 

Soulless by Gail Carriger – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This is Parasol Protectorate #1. The book opens with Alexia being attacked by a vampire. Thankfully, she is more than capable of protecting herself. The leader of the werewolves comes to investigate. If you like books about vampires and werewolves, I definitely recommend this. Actually, I just borrowed the second in the series because talking about it made me want to read the next one. I’m giving it 4 stars.

Island by Aldous Huxley – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This kept appearing on lists of dystopian fiction. It was interesting. It’s more or less a social commentary. Thankfully it wasn’t very long. I’m giving it 2 stars.

My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s Sorry by Fredrik Backman – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. I was on hold and had to wait for this for a long time. It was well worth the wait. A little girl’s grandmother has died and as her last wish, she has to deliver her messages. Each letter leads Elsa to a new discovery and new friendships. This was excellent. I’m giving it 4 stars.

I nearly forgot to finish this post. Anyway, there it is. Let me know what you think or if there are any books that you recommend.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

