Week 9 – 2017

Happy Day after Easter! And Patriot’s Day! Marathon Monday! Woo! I know you’re pumped. Week 9 covers February 27 – March 5. I’ll just get on with it. As always, comments and other feedback are greatly encouraged.

Flight of Dreams by Ariel Lawhon – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. This is a fictionalized account of what happened aboard the Hindenburg on its last, doomed voyage. As the author notes, these are real people, so she did not change their fates. The rest of the story and interactions between the passengers is entirely made up. It’s probably way more entertaining than what actually went on. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I’m giving it 4 stars.

The Wee Free Men by Terry Pratchett – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the BPL. This is Discworld #30 and Tiffany Aching #1. This is YA fantasy. It’s pretty great. I’m always sad when I finish these now that the author has died. There will never be any more once I read them all. I feel this way about several authors, actually. In this one, Tiffany wants to be a witch and she has to save her brother. This is totally girl power. If you know any pre-teens (showing my age there, but I always feel like a total turkey when I use the word tween), then you should definitely buy this for them. In any format. I’m giving it 4 stars.

The Woman Who Stole My Life by Marian Keyes – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. I’m totally biased. I absolutely love this author. I would read anything that she wrote. If this woman wrote the history of baseball, I would read it. I hate baseball. Like really hate it (oddly, do not mind going to games). That’s how much I love this author. Not that she’d ever write about baseball (most obviously because she’s Irish among other things), but you get it. If you need a synopsis, like you don’t just blindly trust me or something, go here. I’m giving it 4 stars.

That’s it. I highly recommend all of these books, depending on your taste. I, of course, like just about anything (other than baseball). If you have any suggestions, as always, let me know.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

