Week 12 – 2017

I know that I just posted yesterday, but this is really the only way to clear up the backlog. Week 12 covers March 20 – 26. As usual, feedback is encouraged. This will be a short one. Promise.

Feet of Clay by Terry Pratchett – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. This is Discworld #19. You all know by now (if you follow me at all) that I love these. Even the ones that aren’t quite as good as the others are quite entertaining. In this one, a golem has run amok and the Guard must find out why and stop it. They also have to stop the townspeople of Ankh Morpork (that I can spell that without looking it up must be some sort of indication as to how man of these I have read) from lynching the city’s golems. If this sounds like a satirical take on prejudice to you, you have it in one. As usual, this was highly entertaining. I recommend the entire series. There are only 41 actual books in the series. That’s doable for you, right? I’m giving this one 4 stars.

Before the Fall by Noah Hawley – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This was a book club pick. I liked this a great deal more than what seems to be the general consensus. A private plane crashes off Long Island and the only survivors are a poor painter and a young boy. It says that in the synopsis, so I’m not giving anything away. The book goes through the passengers and details the events in their lives immediately prior to the crash. There are many reasons this plane may have gone down and the black box has not been recovered so everyone is speculating as to what caused the plane to crash. This brings out the best and worst in people. Regarding the ending, I found it absolutely, stunningly believable. You’ll see what I mean. I’m giving it 5 stars.

And that’s it. I told you this one was going to be short. Let me know what you think. If you have read Before the Fall, I would love to hear your take on the ending.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

