Week 15 – 2017

I hope you are all enjoying a lovely weekend! I’m having a great day here in Boston. I’ve been catching up on some reading and just generally enjoying myself. Week 15 cover April 10 – 16. As always, your feedback is encouraged. So, let’s get started.

Tampa by Alissa Nutting – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the Boston Public Library. The reader of this was amazing. It is told in the first person by the main character and she did an outstanding job. This novel is not for the faint of heart. It tells the story of a female pedophile with a predilection for prepubescent boys. It is an extremely mature topic and the way it is written, you may even find yourself liking the narrator and hoping that she will not get herself caught. I might not recommend this for the mothers of young boys, but if you can accept the topic for what it is and give it a chance, I highly recommend it. I’m giving it 4 stars.

Changeless by Gail Carringer – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This is Parasol Protectorate #2. These are so much fun. In this one, Alexia’s husband has gone off to Scotland on pack business and upon learning information that he will need, Alexia takes off to Scotland with her pals via dirigible. This is steampunk with supernaturals at its best. I’m not quite sure how it took me so long to find these, but I absolutely love them. This one is getting 4 stars and I definitely recommend the entire series.

The Perfect Husband by Lisa Gardner – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This is Quincy and Rainie #1, though only Quincy was in this and I don’t think he played much of a role. The thing I like best about this author is that the victims are the main characters and the detectives are sort of minor, even though they repeat along a series. In this, a woman’s husband has escaped from prison and now she must prepare herself for when he finds her and tries to kill her. Of course, she puts herself up as bait in order to stop him from killing others in his wake. I’m giving this 4 stars.

Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. Twice. It is Red Queen #2. I hate when I don’t finish something that I’m really into and then I have to go back on the wait list and wait several months to finish the last few chapters. It is the worst. I really like this series. Mare is a red with special abilities and the silvers fear her. She is on the run and she is trying to find the others that are like her before the silvers find them and either kill them or lock them in a fortress like prison. This was really good. I’m looking forward to reading the next one. This is getting 4 stars.

And that’s all for Week 15. As always, let me know if you have any feedback or suggestions about books I should read next.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

