Week 16 – 2017

I almost didn’t start another post today, but I have an hour left of enforced productivity and this is one of the tasks on the acceptable list. It’s possible, also, that the other items on the list were somewhat less appealing, like laundry and reading an impossibly long non-fiction book (obviously to be blogged about later, so I won’t give away any spoilers yet). Week 16 covers April 17 – 23. As always, feedback is encouraged.

The Bookseller by Mark Pryor – I actually borrowed this from my mother. She really liked it and wanted to know what I thought. I think she brought it with her at Thanksgiving (but it may have been last April, like 2016). This is Hugo Marston #1. It took me a while to get into this and it doesn’t help that those darn library books are on a timer. Once this gets rolling, it’s really very good. In this first installment in the series, Hugo’s friend Max (the title bookseller) is abducted right in front of him. The police are not investigating because eye witnesses are claiming that Max went willingly, so Hugo (who works for the American embassy) must use his own resources to try to recover his friend and solve the mystery of what is happening to the bouquinistes (I really like this word). I definitely recommend it to anyone that enjoys a mystery. I’m giving it 4 stars.

The Hand of Fu-Manchu by Sax Rohmer – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. This is Fu Manchu #3. I never would have tried this except one of the characters in Donna Tartt’s The Secret History reads these ironically and I was curious as to what they are like. It reminds me of a poorly made black and white film from the era before television. If you’re still curious, give it a whirl. Otherwise, I recommend a pass. I’m giving it 2 stars.

Beyond Lies the Wub by Philip K. Dick – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This is a short story, and well worth your time if you can find it. As with all PKD stories, this is a sort of moral commentary on society. Basically, the wub isn’t hurting anyone, so only bad things will happen if you are mean to it. It’s totally weird. It’s really short. Have I mentioned that? I’m giving it 3 stars.

Blameless by Gail Carringer – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This is Parasol Protectorate #3. I told you in the last post that I like this series. This contains spoilers about the other books, but you’d get the same info from the blurbs, so I’m going with it anyway. In this one, Alexia has been banished by her werewolf husband. And everyone knows she is pregnant, though with what sort of child, no one seems to know. So obviously the vampires are trying to kill her. Alexia and her squad travel to France in order to find out more about keeping her child safe and what sort of child she may be expecting. I love these. I’m giving this one 4 stars.

Read the Parasol Protectorate series. That’s what I’m going with for my finishing thought. If you have any books to recommend, let me know. I enjoy hearing from people.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

