Week 19 – 2017

Hi All! I’m starting to make a dent in all of the things that I am behind in doing. Aren’t you excited for me? That being said, I’m just going to jump into this post. Week 19 covers May 8 – 14. As always, feedback is encouraged and appreciated.

The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. This is Queen of the Tearling #2. This series is excellent. In this, the saga continues as the Red Queen prepares to invade. This is sort of a go between novel in that while the story continues and the characters develop further, nothing really earth shattering happens. I’m still giving it 4 stars.

The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty by A.N. Roquelaure (Anne Rice) – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. It is Sleeping Beauty #1. People love this and it’s rated pretty highly. This was just not my thing. I’m really not a prude, but it lost me when the prince makes her parade around in the nude in front of other people, including her parents. 1 star. Hated it.

The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. I’m going to point out that the author of this is female and it was published when she was still a teen. I think this is a stunning accomplishment and the book itself is highly entertaining and I can see why it turned into a YA classic, part of the school standard, and a pretty well known movie. It’s almost like Romeo and Juliet without the love story (without Juliet, actually). I definitely recommend reading this. Somehow it was left out of my high school education (shocking though that is). I’m giving it 3 stars.

And I guess that’s it for Week 19. Week 20 only has 1 book on it, so my next post may be a combo. I don’t really understand how I went 11 days without finishing anything, but I probably just started a lot of really long ones. Or my kindle may be a jerk. That’s always a possibility.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

