Weeks 20 and 21 – 2017

As noted in the last post, Week 20 only has 1 entry, so I’m doing these together. Week 20 covers one sad little book I read in May 15 – 21 and Week 21 covers May 22 – 28. Let me know what you think.

Week 20

Kitchen Confidential by Anthony Bourdain – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. One of the reasons I love book club is that sometimes you end up reading books that are outside of the genres you typically flock toward. This is an excellent example of a book I would probably never have chosen on my own, but ended up enjoying immensely. He hooked me in the first chapter, talking about trying new foods on a vacation with his family in France. The vichyssoise was cold and he slurped an oyster straight out of the sea. This is the type of eater I try to be. Don’t stick your nose up at anything until you actually try it. The same goes for this book. I’m giving this 4 stars.

Week 21

Revenge Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. It’s a great follow up to The Devil Wears Prada. The characters have the same flow as they did in the original. In this, it is 10 years later and Andy and Emily have become friends and started a successful high end wedding magazine. So of course, Miranda wants to buy it. Which puts Andy in a total spin. There’s romance and babies and all that other normal stuff too. I liked it. It totally sucked me in. I’m giving it 3 stars.

Men Explain Things to Me by Rebecca Solnit – I borrowed this from the BPL. It’s non-fiction about why men often treat women as if they don’t know anything. Even when they are experts in their particular fields. It’s feminist, but it’s also about our culture and how this came to be the norm. I know not every man is like this, but I think we can all relate to this topic, or have had similar experiences. I’m giving it 4 stars.

The Shadow Land by Elizabeth Kostova – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. It’s hard to compare this book to others. This author set the bar incredibly high by writing The Historian. I have read that multiple times and it is without a doubt one of my absolute favorites. Does this book live up to that? Not exactly. Does it blow other books in the genre away? It absolutely does. This is a wonderful work of historical fiction set in Bulgaria after the revolution. Not many contemporary authors write about this topic, probably because the information available to the west has been limited. I find literature about that part of the world highly intriguing. I feel compelled to visit the places that were described in the book. I thought this was a wonderful story and it’s beautifully written. If you haven’t read The Historian, read this first and then absolutely read that. I’m giving it 5 stars.

And that’s it. Let me know what you think or if you have any suggestions.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

