Week 26 – 2017

I hope you are all enjoying whatever it is you do when the weather is nice. I’m still trying to force myself to be productive. If anyone wants to come clean my apartment, let me know, lol. Just kidding. No one will ever volunteer for that. So Week 26 starts on June 26th, which is fitting, and goes to July 2nd. As always, feedback is appreciated.

Girl in Snow by Danya Kukafka – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. Absolutely stunning. And this is a debut novel from a young author. I never would have guessed the ending, which is the best, in my opinion. I could not put this down. I keep blaming the weather for my tiredness, but it’s really this book. Nothing could convince me to go to bed yesterday before finishing. I highly recommend it. I’m giving this 5 bright, shiny stars.

Lady Cop Makes Trouble by Amy Stewart – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. This is Kopp Sisters #2. I received the 3rd on in a Goodreads giveaway, so obviously I needed to read this one first. I really like these. I was first interested because of the cover of the first one and the title. They continue to be outstanding. In this one, Constance is the women’s jail warden and she needs to find a criminal that escaped on her watch. I thought it was great. I’m giving it 4 stars.

We Are Never Meeting in Real Life. by Samantha Irby – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This was something I recommended and they put me on the waitlist when it was purchased. Because obviously this cover. And the title. This is essays by a blogger and she’s really very funny. She talks about relationships and her cat, who she has imagined conversations with. She talks about being fat and how much the cat hates her and not being a kid person. I thought it was great. It’s totally relateable, which is sadly not a real word. It spoke to me. I got it. I’m giving it 4 stars.

Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. I’m not sure what I thought this was about, but I didn’t expect it to be a romance novel, which essentially it is. One that everyone on the planet has read because it surfaces everywhere. It totally sucked me in and I read half of it in one sitting. I was late going to a friend’s house (where we promptly did nothing) because of this book. Even if you’re not normally into romance novels, I definitely recommend this. It’s well written, there’s an actual story, and it flows really well. I’m giving it 4 stars.

And that’s it for Week 26. Let me know if you have any opinions or any suggestions as to what I should read next.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

