Week 27 – 2017

I’m nearly current! I’m really going to have to clean my apartment now. Week 27 covers July 3 – 9. At least 2 of these books made me cry, but I’m not telling which ones. You’ll have to read them to figure it out. As always, feedback is encouraged.

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. This book is amazing. Set during World War II, it tells the story of 2 unlikely friends, girls, who find themselves stranded in France when their plane crashes. They aren’t together. One has been snatched by the Nazis and the other is hiding in a barn with the help of the Resistance. One is apparently spilling all of the secrets while the other is trying to find her, rescue her, and get both of them back to England. The author makes a few leaps but doesn’t venture entirely into the improbable. This is fiction, and in my opinion, allowed for the sake of the story. I’m giving it 5 stars.

Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This was one that I recommended. It is Dark Artifices #2. This author has an incredible imagination. The original series was Harry Potter fan fiction (supposedly), but this has totally taken on a life of its own. Read Lady Midnight and then read this. I have no way to describe this without giving spoilers. This ends on such a cliff hanger that I didn’t even know what to do with myself afterward. It rips your heart out. And then stomps on it for a bit. And then rolls it around in the dirt. And then you wonder what went so horribly wrong. If you need happy endings and it bothers you when the main characters are all slaughtered at the end like something out of a George R.R. Martin, this is not for you. None of this author’s books are for you. I am anxiously waiting for the author to please write another. I’m giving it 4 stars.

Morningstar : Growing Up with Books by Ann Hood – I received this as an actual book in a Goodreads giveaway. This is a book about books. It’s an author’s memoir of reading. She tells about all of the books that lead her through childhood and into the adult she eventually became. She picks topics that the books helped to guide her through and books that really resonated with her at the times when she read them. I thought it was really interesting. She picks some books that would not have been obvious choices and I admire her for that. She is clearly someone who values all books for whatever they imprint on the reader. It’s really short and if you like books about books, I definitely recommend it. I’m giving it 3 stars.

You can probably guess which of these didn’t make me cry. So much for keeping secrets.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

